Does a Cash Advance Affect Your Credit Score? It Depends Which Bureau Is Watching

A cash advance usually does not change your credit score when you take it out or when you pay it back. Payday-style lenders mostly report to specialty bureaus that FICO never reads, a credit card cash advance shows up only as balance, and app advances that meet the CFPB's covered criteria are barred from credit reporting. The score damage comes later, and only if things go wrong: a collector, a court judgment, or a card balance that pushes your utilization up.
That answer has three parts because "cash advance" covers three products, each watched by a different set of eyes.
Will applying leave a mark?
Start with the inquiry question, since that is the fear I hear most often from people with a fragile score. The CFPB divides credit inquiries into two kinds. Hard inquiries are made "by lenders after you apply for credit" and can affect your scores. Soft inquiries, which include "prescreening inquiries by prospective lenders" and "your requests for your credit reports," "do not impact your credit scores." (CFPB, reviewed September 5, 2025.)
Even a hard pull is smaller than most people assume. myFICO puts it plainly: "For most people, one additional credit inquiry will take less than five points off their FICO Scores." The inquiry stays on the report for up to two years but only counts toward the score for one.
Whether a cash advance application produces a hard pull at all depends on the product.
- Payday-style cash advance. The CFPB notes payday lenders "do not generally verify your ability to repay," and many use specialty credit reporting companies rather than Equifax, Experian or TransUnion. A Texas regulator study from December 2025 found payday customers "could have anywhere from subprime to near-prime credit scores"; the score is not the gate. Some lenders do run a nationwide hard pull, and the lender's disclosure will say so.
- Credit card cash advance. No application, so no inquiry. The issuer extended the line when you got the card, and the CFPB treats an ATM withdrawal on the card as a use of existing credit.
- App advance. Under the CFPB's advisory opinion of December 23, 2025, a covered earned wage access provider does "not directly or indirectly assess the credit risk of individual workers, including through obtaining and reviewing credit reports or credit scores." No credit check, so no inquiry.
One clarification I make in almost every session: linking your bank account so a lender can see your deposits is not a credit check and creates no inquiry on any bureau.
This site does not pull your credit. Submitting the request form sends your information to lenders in the network, and each lender decides whether and how to check credit, subject to the FCRA's permissible-purpose rules. Your request may result in a lender reviewing credit information from a nationwide or specialty bureau.
Which bureau sees which cash advance
| Product | Checked at application | Reported while current | Reported on default | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payday-style cash advance | Specialty bureau file (Clarity, Teletrack, FactorTrust) or a state database; sometimes a nationwide hard pull | Usually not reported to the nationwide bureaus | A collector may report to the nationwide bureaus; a court judgment is public record | CFPB en-1611; CFPB 2025 list of consumer reporting companies |
| Credit card cash advance | Nothing; the line is already open | Included in the card balance, not labeled as a cash advance | Missed card payments hit payment history | CFPB en-34; Experian, June 2026 |
| Covered app advance (earned wage access) | No credit risk assessment | None; credit reporting is barred | None; debt collection is barred | CFPB advisory opinion, December 23, 2025; state EWA laws |
The specialty bureaus most people have never heard of
The CFPB's answer to "can a payday loan help my credit?" contains the sentence that explains everything else: "Most storefront payday lenders also don't report any information about your payday loan history to the nationwide credit reporting companies." Some, it adds, "use information from specialty credit reporting companies."
Those specialty companies are real consumer reporting agencies under the Fair Credit Reporting Act. They just hold a different file. Clarity Services, which the CFPB describes as owned by Experian, "collects and provides information on payday loans, installment loans, auto loans (and leasing), check cashing services, rent-to-own transactions ... with an emphasis on the lower-income and subprime consumer market segments." The CFPB's 2025 list of consumer reporting companies also names Teletrack and FactorTrust among the agencies small-dollar lenders use, with contact details for requesting a free copy of your file.
Here is why that matters. A woman I counseled had been turned down by three online lenders in a week and had checked her Experian report twice for the reason. Nothing was wrong on it. The denials came from a specialty file she had never seen, which still listed an installment loan from years earlier as open. Under 15 U.S.C. 1681g she could request that file, and under 1681i she could dispute the entry; once she did both, the picture changed.
A specialty file is not the FICO or VantageScore file a mortgage or auto lender pulls, so a clean payday history there will not raise your score anywhere else. It is also not a state payday database. Washington's regulator: "Lenders report every loan to a statewide database. This is how the limits are enforced." That database counts loans against the state cap; it does not score you.
Credit card cash advances: utilization is the whole story
When you take cash from a credit card, the amount joins your balance. Experian (June 2026) and Credit Karma both confirm the issuer does not label the transaction as a cash advance on your report. Scoring models see a higher balance against the same limit: utilization. Credit Karma's rule of thumb: "if your utilization stays under 30%, the impact is often minimal."
The risk is arithmetic, not labeling. A $300 advance on a card with a $1,000 limit that already carries $400 moves utilization from 40% to 70%. Miss a card payment, though, and you have hit payment history, which Credit Karma calls "one of the biggest factors in your credit scores," and the card's late fee and penalty APR terms apply on top.
App advances: why they cannot report you
The federal position is now explicit. The CFPB's December 23, 2025 advisory opinion on Regulation Z sets out the features of a covered earned wage access product, and a provider that reports to credit bureaus, pursues collection or assesses individual credit risk falls outside that definition. Several states have written the same conditions into law; a law-firm summary of Indiana's statute, effective January 1, 2026, says it bans "late fees, interests or other penalties for nonpayment."
Non-repayment is absorbed by the provider. The CFPB's 2024 market data shows 2022 charge-off rates of 0.3% for employer-partnered advances and 6.3% for direct-to-consumer apps.
What apps do instead is debit your account on the agreed date, whether or not the money is there. The complaints I read are almost never about credit scores. They are about an NSF fee from the bank, a withdrawal the user did not expect, or being cut off from further advances until the balance clears. None of that touches your credit file. All of it touches your checking account.
What happens if you default
Defaults are not rare. The CFPB's 2014 study found 20% of payday borrowers defaulted during the year it examined, and Washington's 2024 report counted 28,144 borrowers with a default out of 92,032, roughly three in ten (28,144 / 92,032 = 0.31). Here is the sequence.
- The first failed debit. Your bank charges an NSF or overdraft fee before the lender does anything. The CFPB's 2016 study of online payday payments (2011 to 2012 data) found half of borrowers paid an average of $185 in bank penalties.
- The second attempt, and the stop. Under the CFPB payment provisions in effect since March 30, 2025, a lender may not make a third withdrawal attempt after two consecutive failures without a new authorization from you. The CFPB has said it is not prioritizing enforcement of these provisions and is reconsidering them in 2026, so treat the rule as leverage, not a guarantee.
- The lender's own collection calls. State law governs the original lender. Washington's regulator states: "A lender cannot harass you or threaten criminal charges to collect a loan." Defaulting on a payday loan is a civil matter, not a crime.
- The debt is sold or placed with a collector. This is the first point at which the nationwide bureaus can enter. The CFPB: "If you don't pay your loan back and your lender sends or sells your payday loan debt to a debt collector, it is possible the debt collector could report this debt to one of the major national credit reporting companies." Third-party collectors are bound by the FDCPA, 15 U.S.C. 1692e, which bars false threats of arrest or jail.
- A lawsuit and a judgment. A payday lender can sue in civil court. The CFPB notes court judgments "could also appear on your credit reports and may lower your credit scores." Show up to the hearing; a court can enter a default judgment if you do not.
- The seven-year clock. Under 15 U.S.C. 1681c(a)(4), a collection account or charge-off can be reported for seven years. Section 1681c(c)(1) starts that clock at "the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity." A civil judgment stays for seven years from entry or the statute of limitations, whichever is longer, under 1681c(a)(2).
How long the lender has to sue is set by your state's statute of limitations on debt; your state page carries the citation, so do not rely on a national figure.
The damage a credit score does not show
In that same 2016 CFPB study, "36 percent of accounts with a failed debit attempt from an online payday lender ended up being closed by the depository institution, usually within 90 days." A closed account with unpaid fees can be reported to a bank-screening agency such as ChexSystems. Losing a checking account costs more than a lower score: no direct deposit, no debit card, check-cashing fees on every paycheck. Your FICO score will show none of it.
Can a cash advance build credit?
No. The CFPB is direct: paying a payday loan on time will not build credit, because the payments are not reported to the nationwide bureaus. If building a file is part of your goal, a payday alternative loan from a federal credit union is the small-dollar product designed with that in mind. NCUA's consumer site describes the terms; ask the credit union whether it reports payments to the nationwide bureaus before you sign.
What to refuse along the way:
- A "credit check fee" or any charge before funding.
- A third debit authorization given under pressure on the phone; ask for it in writing.
- Any collector's mention of arrest or jail; note the time and report it to the CFPB and your state regulator.
- Advice to ignore a court summons; appearing is the single most effective thing you can do.
Sources
State caps, maximum terms and the regulator for your state are cited on the state pages.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do payday loans show up on your credit report?
Usually not while the loan is current. The CFPB states that most storefront payday lenders do not report to the nationwide credit reporting companies, though many use specialty bureaus. The loan can reach Equifax, Experian or TransUnion if a collector reports it or a court enters a judgment against you.
Do cash advance apps check your credit?
Apps that meet the CFPB's December 2025 covered earned wage access criteria do not assess credit risk, report to credit bureaus or pursue collection; they verify income through your employer or bank account instead. A product that does report or collect is not covered by that definition.
Does a credit card cash advance hurt your credit?
Only through utilization and payment history. The advance is not labeled on your report; it raises your balance, and Credit Karma notes the effect is often minimal if utilization stays under 30%. Missing a payment on the card does hurt.
How long does a payday loan collection stay on your report?
Seven years, counted under 15 U.S.C. 1681c(c)(1) from 180 days after the first delinquency that preceded the collection activity. Paying the collection does not shorten the period, and it does not restart it either.
Can I get a cash advance with no credit check?
Many payday-style lenders skip the nationwide hard pull, and covered app advances run no credit check at all. A lender may still pull a specialty bureau file, query a state payday database or review your bank deposits. Submitting the request form on this site may result in a network lender reviewing credit information.
Not a lender. Cost figures use the federal APR formula and the state rule named next to them; the state pages cite each statute. Full disclosures.

